literature News

Nigerian’ Chimamanda at it again!

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie


Chimamanda Adichie, one of Nigeria’s best literature Author, receives the 10th British PEN Pinter prize, making her the first Nigerian to receive the award since 2009 when the prize Center was founded.

The PEN Pinter prize is an annual literary award launched in 2009 by English PEN in honour of the late Nobel Literature Prizewinning playwright Harold Pinter, who had been a Vice President of English PEN and an active member of the International PEN Writers in Prison Committee (WiPC).

Harold Pinter

The award, every year, is given to “a British writer or a writer resident in Britain of outstanding literary merit [Art, Truth and Politics], who casts an ‘unflinching, unswerving’ gaze upon the world and shows ‘a fierce, intellectual determination … to define the real truth of our lives and our societies’.”

The Prize is shared with an “International Writer of Courage,” defined as “someone who has been persecuted for speaking out about [his or her] beliefs,” selected by English PEN’s Writers at Risk Committee in consultation with the annual Prize winner, and announced during an award ceremony held at the British Library.

The PEN Pinter Prize is one of the many PEN literary awards sponsored by PEN International affiliates in “more than 100” PEN International Centers located around the world.

List of Recipients of the Award since 2009

  • 2009: Tony Harrison, poet and playwright.


  • 2010: Hanif Kureishi


  • 2011: David Hare, playwright


  • 2012: Carol Ann Duffy, poet


  • 2013: Tom Stoppard, playwright


  • 2014: Salman Rushdie, novelist


  • 2015: James Fenton


  • 2016: Margaret Atwood


  • 2017: Michael Longley


2018: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for the PEN Pinter 2018 Prize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *